An Introduction To Beckenham Town Football Club

by Administrator on Mar 26, 2016 Sport 764 Views

An introduction to Beckenham Town Football Club - Read the full article at

Beckenham Town Football Club is one of the older non-league clubs still in existence, being first affiliated to The Kent Football Association in 1887.  Records show the club played in the London League from 1923 to 1933 and 1951 to 1961 and the Aetolian League from 1961 to 1964 before moving to the Greater London League from 1964 to 1969.  In addition to its present day participation in the FA Cup and FA Vase, it also competed in the FA Amateur Cup from 1926 to 1967.


Amongst the club’s past Presidents is ex-Prime Minster the Rt. Hon Harold Macmillan MP and amongst the club’s Vice Presidents is Sydney Wooderson one of Britain’s
greatest middle-distance runners.


Honours include the London League Championship in 1927-28 and runners-up in 1930-31. Unfortunately, the club folded in 1969 merging with Bromley FC.  The club was subsequently re-formed and joined London Spartan League in 1975 and enjoyed some early success being Runners-up to Fisher Athletic in the Spartan League Senior Division in 1977-78. Town also reached two Spartan League Cup Finals, losing to Welling United and Farnham Town. More recent successes have been two previous appearances in the Kent League Cup Final in 1984-85 and 1992-93 and Runners-Up to Maidstone Utd in the Kent League Premier Division in 2005-06.

This season, after three previous unsuccessful attempts in 1981-82, 2004/05 and 2007/08, finally victory in the Kent Senior Trophy after a 4-0 win over Ashford Utd at Longmead Stadium in April.

Continue reading here:



Overall Rating:

Most Recent Articles


Boost Your SEO



Prize Winner

Apr 6, 2016 by Administrator

As you know, if you didn't - you do now, each month we will select a random author to win a prize, it may be for  best content, most views, most earnings but it will certainly be random once all the enties get put into the hat. The lucky winner will win a $50 prize... Continue reading →